Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
The Studio Recordings of the Miles Davis Quintet, 1965–68 - Oxford Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

The Studio Recordings of the Miles Davis Quintet, 1965–68

Keith Waters


The influence of Miles Davis's “second great quintet, ” consisting of Davis, Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter, and Tony Williams continues to resonate. Jazz musicians, historians, and critics have celebrated the group for its improvisational communication, openness, and its transitional status between hard bop and the emerging free jazz of the 1960s, creating a synthesis described by one quintet member as “controlled freedom.” The book provides a critical analytical study of the Davis quintet studio recordings released between 1965 and 1968, including E.S.P., Miles Smiles, Sorcerer, N ... More

Keywords: Miles Davis Quintet, studio recordings, contemporary jazz composition

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2011 Print ISBN-13: 9780195393835
Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: May 2015 DOI:10.1093/acprof:osobl/9780195393835.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Keith Waters, author
Associate Professor, University of Colorado at Boulder