Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
The British Constitution$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Anthony King

Print publication date: 2009

Print ISBN-13: 9780199576982

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: October 2011

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199576982.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.oxfordscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use (for details see www.oxfordscholarship.com/page/privacy-policy).date: 21 July 2019

Great British Icons

Great British Icons

(p.313) 13 Great British Icons
The British Constitution

Anthony King

Oxford University Press

This chapter highlights the three great icons of British government: 10 Downing Street, the Palace of Westminister, and Buckingham Palace. 10 Downing Street is the place where the prime minister lives and works, and the cabinet meets. The Palace of Westminister is where the two houses of parliament meet, while Buckingham Palace is where the monarch lives and works. All three are icons in every sense of the term. They are all visual objects and not abstract concepts such as the sovereignty of parliament or the rule of law.

Keywords:   great icons, British government, 10 Downing Street, Palace of Westminister, Buckingham Palace, sovereignty of parliament, rule of law

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .