Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Knowledge Management and Organizational Competence$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Ron Sanchez

Print publication date: 2003

Print ISBN-13: 9780199259281

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: January 2010

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199259281.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.oxfordscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use (for details see www.oxfordscholarship.com/page/privacy-policy).date: 20 July 2019

Managing Knowledge into Competence: The Five Learning Cycles of the Competent Organization

Managing Knowledge into Competence: The Five Learning Cycles of the Competent Organization

(p.3) 1 Managing Knowledge into Competence: The Five Learning Cycles of the Competent Organization
Knowledge Management and Organizational Competence

Ron Sanchez (Contributor Webpage)

Oxford University Press

This book explores theoretically sound and practically implementable ideas for effective knowledge management and how knowledge can be converted into increased organizational competence. It draws on a number of management perspectives, including strategy, technology management, marketing, information systems, innovation, accounting and control, and general management, to clarify the processes through which people create and use knowledge in organizations. Case studies and other action-oriented research methods are used to derive practically implementable ways to support, improve, and stimulate the creation and use of knowledge that can enhance organizational competences and bring strategic benefits to organizations. This chapter introduces a model of the five learning cycles of the competent organization: organization learning cycle, group/organization learning cycle, group learning cycle, individual/group learning cycle, and individual learning cycle. Several terms that represent the essential building blocks of organizational sensemaking processes are introduced, namely, data, information, knowledge, learning, sensemaking, and interpretive frameworks. The chapter concludes by proposing a set of basic principles for managing knowledge and organizational learning in each of the five learning cycles.

Keywords:   knowledge management, organizational competence, organizational learning, learning cycles, sensemaking, group learning, individual learning

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .