Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
The Intergovernmental Pillars of the European
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Eileen Denza

Print publication date: 2002

Print ISBN-13: 9780198299356

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: March 2012

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780198299356.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.oxfordscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use. date: 20 November 2019

Security and Defence Policy

Security and Defence Policy

(p.340) (p.341) 11 Security and Defence Policy
The Intergovernmental Pillars of the European Union

Eileen Denza

Oxford University Press

This chapter examines the security and defence policy of the intergovernmental pillars of the European Union. It discusses the key provisions of the pillars and compares them with those of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) and the Western European Union (WEU). It describes the changes in the purpose of security and defence policy in several European countries, including neutral Member States, Ireland, Austria, and Finland when the Treaty of Amsterdam went into force.

Keywords:   intergovernmental pillars, European Union, security policy, defence policy, NATO, WEU, Member States, Treaty of Amsterdam, North Atlantic Treaty Organization, Western European Union

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .