Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Kierkegaard as Negative Theologian$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

David R. Law

Print publication date: 1993

Print ISBN-13: 9780198263364

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: October 2011

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780198263364.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.oxfordscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2020. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use. date: 16 February 2020

The Stages of Existence

The Stages of Existence

(p.124) 5 The Stages of Existence
Kierkegaard as Negative Theologian


Oxford University Press

This chapter examines the three stages in Søren Kierkegaard's spheres of existence. These are the aesthetic, ethical, and religiousness stages. The aesthetic individual is concerned only with the physical, the finite, and the temporal, while the ethical individual is one who has chosen to discard his aesthetic or finite self. The religious individual is one who has realized that the ethical sphere is inadequate. This chapter suggests that this theory and his other theses reveal that there is an apophatic undercurrent running through Kierkegaard's thought.

Keywords:   Søren Kierkegaard, existence, aesthetic individual, ethical individual, religious individual, apophaticism

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .