Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Building BlocksRepetition and Continuity in the Music of Stravinsky$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Gretchen Horlacher

Print publication date: 2011

Print ISBN-13: 9780195370867

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: May 2011

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195370867.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.oxfordscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use. date: 18 October 2019

The First Movement of Three Pieces for String Quartet

The First Movement of Three Pieces for String Quartet

A Shaking and Cracking of Dancing Bones

(p.3) 1 The First Movement of Three Pieces for String Quartet
Building Blocks

Gretchen G. Horlacher (Contributor Webpage)

Oxford University Press

This chapter uses the first movement of Stravinsky's quartet as a sample, demonstrating how it brings stasis and movement, infinity and passage, into relation. It focuses on the nature and degree of interaction between repetition and continuity rather than the privileging of one over the other. It begins by examining the violin melody, commonly described as an unchanging—and thus unending—repetition, instead as a series of phrase-like gestures marked by processes of opening, growth and development, and closure, both as a single ostinato and as a recurring theme. Its subdivisions are referred to as both segments (highlighting their identities as subsets of the ostinato) and as phrases (highlighting their formal functions within the ostinato). From there the chapter turns to the interaction of the melody with the other parts, highlighting both its contrapuntal and heterophonous relations with them. Along the way it examines sketch materials from the movement, describing how the composer's adaptation of the original four-hands piano version into a movement for string quartet greatly amplified its dual characteristics. Ultimately, that such varied implications can be drawn from such a limited set of materials points not only to Stravinsky's ingenious inventions, but also to a fundamental aspect of temporal experience. Stravinsky's music encourages us to perceive time both as the experience of discrete, “present-tense” moments and as a larger flow among them.

Keywords:   Igor Stravinsky, repetition, continuity, violin melody, ostinato

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .