Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
The Organ Music of Johannes Brahms$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Barbara Owen

Print publication date: 2007

Print ISBN-13: 9780195311075

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: January 2010

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195311075.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.oxfordscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2020. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use. date: 03 June 2020

The Early Works

The Early Works

(p.53) FOUR The Early Works
The Organ Music of Johannes Brahms

Barbara Owen

Oxford University Press

This chapter discusses Brahms's early works. It suggests that by the time Brahms was beginning to feel some real mastery of counterpoint, he should have turned to the organ as a medium for three extensive works: the Prelude and Fugue in A Minor (WoO 8), the Fugue in A-flat Minor (WoO 0), and the Geistliches Lied (op. 30), which combines a sensitive setting of a Paul Flemming text with a masterful canonic melding of voices and organ.

Keywords:   Brahms, Paul Flemming, Geistliches Lied

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .