Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Vaughan Williams on Music$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

David Manning

Print publication date: 2007

Print ISBN-13: 9780195182392

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: October 2011

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195182392.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.oxfordscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2020. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use. date: 24 May 2020

Ninth Symphony

Ninth Symphony

(p.390) (p.391) Chapter 93 Ninth Symphony
Vaughan Williams on Music

David Manning

Oxford University Press

The Ninth Symphony was begun early in 1956, and was finished, so far as a composition is ever finished, in November 1957. It was written chiefly in London, but partly in Majorca and partly at Ashmansworth, the home of Gerald and Joyce Finzi. The symphony is dedicated to the Royal Philharmonic Society and was first played at a concert on the 2 April 1958 by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Sir Malcolm Sargent. The usual symphony orchestra is used, with the addition of three saxophones and flügel horn. This beautiful and neglected instrument is not usually allowed in the select circles of the orchestra and has been banished to the brass band, where it is allowed to indulge in the bad habit of vibrato to its heart's content. There are four movements, as is usual in a symphony: Allegro Moderato, Andante Sostenuto, Allegro Pesante, and Andante Tranquillo.

Keywords:   Ninth Symphony, Gerald Finzi, Joyce Finzi, Royal Philharmonic Society, Malcolm Sargent, symphony orchestra, Allegro Moderato, Andante Sostenuto, Allegro Pesante, Andante Tranquillo

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .