Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
The String Quartets of Joseph Haydn$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Floyd Grave and Margaret Grave

Print publication date: 2006

Print ISBN-13: 9780195173574

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: May 2008

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195173574.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.oxfordscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use (for details see www.oxfordscholarship.com/page/privacy-policy).date: 25 May 2019

Op. 50 (1787)

Op. 50 (1787)

(p.222) 12 Op. 50 (1787)
The String Quartets of Joseph Haydn

Floyd Grave

Margaret Grave

Oxford University Press

Dedicated to Friedrich Wilhelm II and known as the “Prussian” quartets, these difficult works were clearly designed for connoisseurs. Their sale and early publication history involved complex, evidently devious negotiations with the publishers Artaria in Vienna and William Forster in London. A distinctive first-movement trait involves a new kind of relationship between meter and surface rhythm (a fast alla breve with much triplet figuration), which fosters fluid rhythmic momentum and broad melodic trajectories. Dance movements are notable for their metrical dissonances and thematic connections between minuet and trio. Learned polyphony is emphasized most notably in the fugal finale of Op. 50/4. Other finales display elaborate sonata forms, several of which have multiple, rondo-like recurrences of primary-theme material. Possibly a musical response to Mozart's recently completed “Dedication” quartets, Op. 50 rivals Mozart's contemporaneous works in promoting the quartet's ascendancy as an aristocrat among instrumental genres.

Keywords:   alla breve meter, Artaria, chromatic inflection, Dedication quartets, Forster, Friedrich Wilhelm II, fugue, metrical dissonance, Mozart, polyphony

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .