Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
The Atonal Music of Arnold Schoenberg 1908–1923 | Oxford Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

The Atonal Music of Arnold Schoenberg 1908–1923

Bryan R. Simms


In the years from 1908 to 1923, Arnold Schoenberg developed a compositional strategy that moved beyond the accepted concepts and practices of Western tonality. Pieces from this period such as Pierrot Lunaire and Erwartung remain masterpieces of the modern repertoire. The lasting importance of Schoenberg's atonal music is reflected in the very large but fragmented critical and analytical literature that surrounds it. This book synthesizes and advances the state of knowledge about this body of work, building up a comprehensive description from close analytical study.

Keywords: Arnold Schoenberg, compositional strategy, Western tonality, Pierrot Lunaire, Erwartung, modern repertoire, atonal music, critical literature, analytical literature

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2000 Print ISBN-13: 9780195128260
Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: October 2011 DOI:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195128260.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Bryan R. Simms, author
University of Southern California