Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Tears into WineJ. S. Bach's Cantata 21 in its Musical and Theological Contexts$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Eric Chafe

Print publication date: 2015

Print ISBN-13: 9780190217297

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: April 2015

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780190217297.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.oxfordscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use. date: 16 October 2019

Descent and Indwelling

Descent and Indwelling

Cantata 172

(p.529) 12 Descent and Indwelling
Tears into Wine

Eric Chafe

Oxford University Press

This chapter is an in-depth study of Bach’s first Pentecost cantata, BWV 172, composed as the fourth cantata of Bach’s first cantata cycle in 1714. It bridges between Cantata 12 of four weeks before and Cantata 21 of four weeks later. It follows a design of “descending” keys, beginning in C major and outlining a triadic descent through A minor to F major, in which it ends. Its penultimate movement is simultaneously a ground-bass movement, a dialog between the soul and the Holy Spirit, and a chorale prelude.

Keywords:   Pentecost, Erschallet ihr Lieder, Philipp Nicolai, chorale prelude, catabasis cantata

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .