Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Freshwater Ecology and Conservation
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Freshwater Ecology and Conservation: Approaches and Techniques

Jocelyne Hughes

Abstract

This practical manual of freshwater ecology and conservation provides a state-of-the-art review of the methods and techniques used to measure, monitor, and conserve freshwater ecosystems. It offers a single, comprehensive, and accessible synthesis of the vast amount of technical literature for freshwater ecology and conservation that is currently dispersed in manuals, toolkits, journals, handbooks, ‘grey’ literature, and websites. Successful conservation outcomes are ultimately built on a sound ecological framework in which every species must be assessed and understood at the individual, commu ... More

Keywords: wetlands, freshwater ecology, water chemistry, freshwater techniques, management, hydrology, macrophytes, restoration, invasive species, ecosystem services

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2018 Print ISBN-13: 9780198766384
Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: February 2019 DOI:10.1093/oso/9780198766384.001.0001

Authors

Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Jocelyne Hughes, editor
Course Director, School of Geography and the Environment, University of Oxford, UK

Show Summary Details

subscribe or login to access all content.

Contents

View:

Part I Overall Considerations

1 Diversity of Freshwater Ecosystems and Global Distributions

G. Randy Milton and C. Max Finlayson, corresponding author: gordon.milton@novascotia.ca

2 Approaches to Freshwater Ecology and Conservation

Rebecca E. Tharme, David Tickner, Jocelyne M.R. Hughes, John Conallin, and Lauren Zielinski, corresponding author: rebeccatharme@riverfutures.com

3 Sampling Strategies and Protocols for Freshwater Ecology and Conservation

Leon A. Barmuta, corresponding author: leon.barmuta@utas.edu.au

Part II Measuring the Component Parts

4 Water Quantity and Hydrology

Matthew McCartney, corresponding author: m.mccartney@cgiar.org

5 Chemical Determinands of Freshwater Ecosystem Functioning

Nic Pacini, Libor Pechar, and David M. Harper, corresponding author: nicopacini@gmail.com

6 Physical Variables in Freshwater Ecosystems

Curt Lamberth and Jocelyne M.R. Hughes, corresponding author: curt@oxfordenvironment.co.uk

7 Microorganisms 1

David C. Sigee, corresponding author: david.sigee@manchester.ac.uk

8 Microorganisms 2

Julia Reiss, corresponding author: julia.reiss@roehampton.ac.uk

9 Wetland Plants and Aquatic Macrophytes

Jocelyne M.R. Hughes, Beverley R. Clarkson, Ana T. Castro-Castellon, and Laura L. Hess, corresponding author: jocelyne.hughes@ouce.ox.ac.uk

10 Freshwater Vertebrates

Stephen E.W. Green, Rosie D. Salazar, Gillian Gilbert, Andrew S. Buxton, Danielle L. Gilroy, Thierry Oberdorff, and Lauren A. Harrington, corresponding author: stephen.green@cornwall.ac.uk

11 Aquatic Macroinvertebrates

Richard Marchant and Catherine M. Yule, corresponding author: rmarch@museum.vic.gov.au

Part III Ecosystem Dynamics, Conservation, and Management

12 Freshwater Populations, Interactions, and Networks

David M. Harper and Nic Pacini, corresponding author: dmh@le.ac.uk

13 Changes Over Time

Peter A. Gell, Marie-Elodie Perga, and C. Max Finlayson, corresponding author: p.gell@federation.edu.au

14 Secondary Data

Aaike De Wever, Astrid Schmidt-Kloiber, Vanessa Bremerich, and Joerg Freyhof, corresponding author: aaike.dewever@gmail.com

15 Freshwater Ecosystem Services and Functions

C. Max Finlayson, Rudolph S. de Groot, Francine M.R. Hughes, and Caroline A. Sullivan, corresponding author: mfinlayson@csu.edu.au

16 Invasive Aquatic Species

Julie A. Coetzee, Martin P. Hill, Andreas Hussner, Ana L. Nunes, and Olaf L.F. Weyl, corresponding author: Julie.coetzee@ru.ac.za

17 Freshwater Ecosystem Security and Climate Change

Jamie Pittock, C. Max Finlayson, and Simon Linke, corresponding author: Jamie.pittock@anu.edu.au

18 Restoration of Freshwaters: Principles and Practice

Carl Sayer, Helen Bennion, Angela Gurnell, Emma Goodyer, Donovan Kotze, and Richard Lindsay, corresponding author: c.sayer@ucl.ac.uk

19 Wetland Landscapes and Catchment Management

Caroline A. Sullivan, C. Max Finlayson, Elizabeth Heagney, Marie-Chantale Pelletier, Mike C. Acreman, and Jocelyne M.R. Hughes, corresponding author: caroline.sullivan@scu.edu.au

End Matter