Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
The Art of Re-enchantmentMaking Early Music in the Modern Age$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Nick Wilson

Print publication date: 2013

Print ISBN-13: 9780199939930

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: January 2014

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199939930.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.oxfordscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use (for details see www.oxfordscholarship.com/page/privacy-policy).date: 10 December 2018

Seven Ages of Early Music

Seven Ages of Early Music

(p.19) 2 Seven Ages of Early Music
The Art of Re-enchantment

Nick Wilson

Oxford University Press

Chapter 2 provides a historical overview of the early music revival in Britain. Early Music’s pre-history (taking us to Germany, Austria, the Netherlands and France, in particular) is briefly introduced. The main part of the chapter then applies an analytical schema - the ‘Seven Ages of Early Music’ to highlight key milestones in the cultural movement over the last 40 years or so. The seven stages take us through Early Music’s Infancy (1966-67), Growth, Independence, Maturity, Consolidation, Restlessness, and thenNew Direction?(2007 onwards). Leading pioneers of the movement, such as Michael Morrow, David Munrow, the ‘class of’ 73, Roger Norrington and John Eliot Gardiner are introduced. Inhighlightingthe pattern of early music ensemble formations over the years, the chapter develops a strong sense of the movement’s trajectory, complete with its ‘coming of age’ with the launch of the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment in 1986.

Keywords:   AlteMusik, seven-year cycle, human development, MusicaReservata, Early Music Consort of London, Academy of Ancient Music, The English Concert, Taverner Choir, Consort & Players, The Tallis Scholars, Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .