Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
After the RiteStravinsky's Path to Neoclassicism (1914-1925)$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Maureen A. Carr

Print publication date: 2014

Print ISBN-13: 9780199742936

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: October 2016

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199742936.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.oxfordscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use (for details see www.oxfordscholarship.com/page/privacy-policy).date: 15 December 2018

Octet (1919–23), Cinq pièces monométriques (frags.; 192?), Concerto for Piano and Winds (1923–24)

Octet (1919–23), Cinq pièces monométriques (frags.; 192?), Concerto for Piano and Winds (1923–24)

(p.248) 7 Octet (1919–23), Cinq pièces monométriques (frags.; 192?), Concerto for Piano and Winds (1923–24)
After the Rite

Maureen A. Carr

Oxford University Press

The proximity of the sketches for the Fugue (Variation E of the Octet) to Stravinsky’s experiments with meter and tempo in Cinq pièces monomètriques (Sketchbook VII) suggests that these early sketches for the Octet (together with another sketch that followed the sketches for the Piano-Rag-Music and that might have been written as early as 1919) deserve closer scrutiny. The location of the compositional sketches for Concerto for Piano and Winds (1923–24) is unknown at the present time, except for the single sketch found at the Paul Sacher Stiftung. However, the summary sketches (housed at the Stravinsky archive) have a few pages of compositional sketches that are helpful. The intrigue about this work is that Stravinsky performed it 40 times, and he has listed the dates and places of these performances inside the score that he used. (I examined this score at the Stravinsky Archive.)

Keywords:   Octet, Cinq pièces monomètriques, Piano-Rag-Music, Concerto, Claudia Vincis, Koussevitzky, Marianne Kielian-Gilbert

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .