Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Calvinists and LibertinesConfession and Community in Utrecht 1578-1620$

Benjamin J. Kaplan

Print publication date: 1995

Print ISBN-13: 9780198202837

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: October 2011

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780198202837.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.oxfordscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2017. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use (for details see http://www.oxfordscholarship.com/page/privacy-policy). Subscriber: null; date: 24 February 2017

(p.305) Appendix: List of Ministers Serving the Reformed Congregations of Utrecht, 1578–1618

(p.305) Appendix: List of Ministers Serving the Reformed Congregations of Utrecht, 1578–1618

Calvinists and Libertines
Oxford University Press

THE following abbreviations indicate the circumstance under which the minister left the service of his congregation:

  1. d. died

  2. f. dismissed (fired)

  3. r. resigned


Years of Service


Hubert Duifhuis

(1574) 1578–81 d.1


Nicolaas Sopingius

1579–89 f.


Erasmus Backer

1579–82 r.


Werner Helmichius

(1578) 1579–89 f.2


Herman Modetus

1580–8 f.3


Herman Elconius

1581–9 r.


Simon Hebelenus

1581–4 f.


Tako Sybrants

1582–6 r.


Johannes Wtenbogaert

1584–9 f.


Cornells Martini Royenburg

1585–9 f.


Henricus Caesarius

1590–1619 f.

Gerard Blockhoven

1590–8 f.

Johannes Andelius

1590 r.

Johannes Gerobulus

1590–1606 d.

Johannes Ursinus

1594–9 f.

Henricus Conchardus

1594–1600 d.

Jean Masselot

1595–1601 d.


Johannes Bergerus

1599–1605 f.

Cornelis Anthonii van Zeist

1600?–1 r.4

Gerhardus Caesarius

1601–2 d.5

Job du Rieu

1601–3 f.


Everhardus Bootius

1602–10 d.

Charles de Nielles

1604–19 f.


Gideon van Sonnevelt

1604 r.

Johannes Speenhoven

1605–19 f.

Jacobus Taurinus

1605–18 d.

Jacobus Bruno

1607–8 d.6

Carolus Rijckewaert

1609–19 f.

Isaac Frederici

1612–19 f.

Rudolph van Zijll

1612–19 f.

Wilhelmus van Nypoort

1612–19 f.

Bernhardus Bushof


(1) Duifhuis served as Catholic pastor of the Jacobskerk between 1574 and 1578.

(2) Utrecht borrowed Helmichius's services from the Dutch refugee church in Frankfurt for part of 1578.

(3) Facing certain, dismissal, Modetus fled the city in autumn 1588; his formal dismissal came in Feb. 1589.

(4) The appointment of Van Zeist, whom the consistorials called Abbot of Oostbroeck and Father of Klare Water, occurred without the formal approval of consistory, congregation, or city council, so that its status was always unclear; said by one magistrate to be appointed ‘provisionally’, Van Zeist was at his own request ‘granted leave’ (veroorloft) in 1601. ARA, OSA 73, i. 33, 68, 95.

(5) Son of Henricus Caesarius.

(6) Appointed by consistory and magistracy in 1607, Bruno was not formally invested in office until 3 Jan. 1608.