Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Religion and Politics in Post-Communist Romania$

Lavinia Stan and Lucian Turcescu

Print publication date: 2007

Print ISBN-13: 9780195308532

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: September 2007

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195308532.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.oxfordscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2017. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use (for details see http://www.oxfordscholarship.com/page/privacy-policy). Subscriber: null; date: 26 February 2017

(p.209) Appendix

(p.209) Appendix

Religion and Politics in Post-Communist Romania
Oxford University Press

Religious Denominations Recognized in Romania (2006)

Romanian Orthodox Church

Serbian Orthodox Episcopate of Timişoara

Roman Catholic Church

Romanian Church United with Rome, Greek Catholic

Archbishopric of the Armenian Church

Russian Church of Ancient Rite in Romania

Reformed Church in Romania

Evangelical Church, Confessio Augustana, in Romania

Evangelical Lutheran Church in Romania

Unitarian Church in Transylvania

Union of the Christian Baptist Churches in Romania

Christian Church according to the Gospel in Romania – Union of Christian Churches according to the Gospel in Romania

Romanian Evangelical Church

Pentecostal Union – Apostolic Church of God in Romania

Christian Seventh‐day Adventist Church in Romania

Federation of Jewish Communities in Romania


Jehovah's Witnesses

(p.210) Orthodox Church Leaders Mentioned in the Book

Teoctist Arăpaşu, Patriarch of the Romanian Orthodox Church, Metropolitan of Muntenia and Dobrogea, and Archbishop of Bucharest (Patriarch Teoctist)

Archbishop Bartolomeu Anania of Cluj, Vad, and Feleac (since 2006 also Metropolitan of Cluj, Alba, Crişana, and Maramureş)

Metropolitan Antonie Plămădeală of Transylvania (died in 2005)

Metropolitan Nicolae Corneanu of Banat (also Archbishop of Timişoara)

Bishop Laurenţiu Streza of Caransebeş (since 2006 Archbishop of Sibiu and Metropolitan of Transylvania, replacing Antonie Plămădeală)

Metropolitan Daniel Ciobotea of Moldova and Bukovina (also Archbishop of Iaşi)

Bishop Ioachim Mareş of Huşi

Metropolitan Petru Păduraru of Bessarabia (also archbishop)

Metropolitan Nestor Vornicescu of Oltenia (also Archbishop of Craiova) (died in 2000)

Bishop Casian Crăciun of Dunărea de Jos

Archbishop Pimen Zainea of Suceava

Archbishop Andrei Andreicuţ of Alba Iulia

Archbishop Lucian Florea of Tomis (died in 2001)

Archbishop Teodosie Petrescu of Tomis

Bishop Epifanie Norocel of Buzau

Other Churches Leaders Mentioned in the Book

Metropolitan Vlasie Mogîrzan (Old Calendar Orthodox Church)

Bishop Ioan Ploscaru of Lugoj (Greek Catholic)

Archbishop Lucian Mureşan (major archbishop since December 2005) (Greek Catholic)

Bishop Inochentie Micu (Greek Catholic)

Metropolitan Cyril Gundyaev of Smolensk (Russian Orthodox Church)