Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
The Master Musicians: Mozart$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Julian Rushton

Print publication date: 2006

Print ISBN-13: 9780195182644

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: October 2011

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195182644.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.oxfordscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use (for details see www.oxfordscholarship.com/page/privacy-policy).date: 17 December 2018

Orchestral Music

Orchestral Music

‘the glorious effect of a symphony with fiutes, oboes, and clarinets

(p.85) Chapter 10 Orchestral Music
The Master Musicians: Mozart

Julian Rushton

Oxford University Press

When Mozart returned to Salzburg, he had composed half-a-dozen symphonies and the seventeen-movement Galimathias musicum (K. 32). Other than piano concertos, the majority of his orchestral works date from periods of residence in Salzburg, with a few symphonies composed for concerts in Vienna and Milan. His Salzburg output also includes violin concertos and orchestral divertimenti — serenades, cassations, and Finalmusik for summer festivities. The progress of Mozart's concertos parallels that of the symphonies: the pleasant, even admirable, breaks through into music of individual and unforgettable charm and originality.

Keywords:   Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, composition, symphonies, concertos

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .