APPENDIX - Oxford Scholarship Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Common ScentsComparative Encounters in High-Victorian Fiction$

Janice Carlisle

Print publication date: 2004

Print ISBN-13: 9780195165098

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: September 2007

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195165098.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE ( (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2015. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use (for details see Subscriber: null; date: 24 September 2016

(p.159) APPENDIX

(p.159) APPENDIX

Common Scents
Oxford University Press

The novels surveyed for this study are listed below by title, along with their authors and the dates of their first publication in serial or book form (Sutherland, Stanford Companion). All these novels were at least partially written and/or published in the 1860s. This expansive definition of the decade justifies the inclusion here of Swinburne's Love's Cross-Currents, which did not appear for more than a decade after it was written in 1862 (E. Wilson 22); his Lesbia Brandon, which waited to be published for almost a century after 1864 when he began work on it; and Eliot's Middlemarch, the initial stages of several plots of which were written starting in the middle of 1869. See the Works Cited for the specific editions quoted in the text.

The Adventures of Philip, William Makepeace Thackeray, 1861–62

Armadale, Wilkie Collins, 1864–66

At Odds, Jemima, Baroness Tautphoeus, 1863

Aurora Floyd, Mary Elizabeth Braddon, 1862–63

Barrington, Charles Lever, 1862–63

The Belton Estate, Anthony Trollope, 1865–66

Beyond the Church, Frederick William Robinson, 1866

Can You Forgive Her? Anthony Trollope, 1864–65

Castle Richmond, Anthony Trollope, 1860

The Claverings, Anthony Trollope, 1866–67

The Clever Woman of the Family, Charlotte Mary Yonge, 1864–65

The Cloister and the Hearth, Charles Reade, 1861

Cometh up as a Flower, Rhoda Broughton, 1867

Cousin Phillis, Elizabeth Gaskell, 1863–64

De Profundis: A Tale of the Social Deposits, William Gilbert, 1864

The Doctor's Wife, Mary Elizabeth Braddon, 1864

East Lynne, Ellen Price [Mrs. Henry] Wood, 1860–61

Eleanor's Victory, Mary Elizabeth Braddon, 1863

Emilia in England [Sandra Belloni], George Meredith, 1864

Evan Harrington, George Meredith, 1860

Felix Holt, the Radical, George Eliot, 1866


Foul Play, Charles Reade and Dion Boucicault, 1868

Framley Parsonage, Anthony Trollope, 1860–61

Grasp Your Nettle, Eliza Lynn Linton, 1865

Great Expectations, Charles Dickens, 1860–61

Griffith Gaunt, or Jealousy, Charles Reade, 1865–66

Hard Cash, Charles Reade, 1863

He Knew He Was Right, Anthony Trollope, 1868–69

Hidden Depths, Felicia Skene, 1866

High Church, Frederick William Robinson, 1860

The House by the Churchyard, Sheridan Le Fanu, 1861–63

John Marchmont's Legacy, Mary Elizabeth Braddon, 1862–64

Johnny Robinson: The Story of the Childhood and Schooldays of an “Intelligent Artisan” [Thomas Wright], 1868

Lady Audley's Secret, Mary Elizabeth Braddon, 1862

The Lady's Mile, Mary Elizabeth Braddon, 1866

The Last Chronicle of Barset, Anthony Trollope, 1866–67

Lesbia Brandon, Algernon Swinburne, 1952

Linda Tressel, Anthony Trollope, 1867–68

Lizzie Lorton of Greyrigg, Eliza Lynn Linton, 1866

Lorna Doone, R. D. Blackmore, 1869

Lost and Saved, Caroline Norton, 1863

Lost Sir Massingberd, James Payn, 1864

Lothair, Benjamin Disraeli, 1870

Love's Cross-Currents [A Year's Letters], Algernon Swinburne, 1877

Man and Wife, Wilkie Collins, 1870

Middlemarch, George Eliot, 1871–72

The Mill on the Floss, George Eliot, 1860

Miss Mackenzie, Anthony Trollope, 1865

Miss Marjoribanks, Margaret Oliphant, 1865–66

The Moonstone, Wilkie Collins, 1868

Mrs. Gerald's Niece, Lady Georgiana Fullerton, 1869

Nina Balatka, Anthony Trollope, 1866–67

No Name, Wilkie Collins, 1862–63

Not Wisely but Too Well, Rhoda Broughton, 1867

Orley Farm, Anthony Trollope, 1861–62

Our Mutual Friend, Charles Dickens, 1864–65

The Perpetual Curate, Margaret Oliphant, 1864

Phineas Finn, Anthony Trollope, 1867–69

Put Yourself in His Place, Charles Reade, 1869–70

Rachel Ray, Anthony Trollope, 1863

The Rector and the Doctor's Family, Margaret Oliphant, 1861

Rhoda Fleming, George Meredith, 1865

Romola, George Eliot, 1862–63


Salem Chapel, Margaret Oliphant, 1862–63

The Semi-Attached Couple, Emily Eden, 1860

Silas Marner, George Eliot, 1861

The Small House at Allington, Anthony Trollope, 1862–64

A Strange Story, Edward Bulwer-Lytton, 1861–62

The Struggles of Brown, Jones, and Robinson, Anthony Trollope, 1861–62

Sylvia's Lovers, Elizabeth Gaskell, 1863

Tom Brown at Oxford, Thomas Hughes, 1859–61

The Trial, Charlotte Mary Yonge, 1863

Two Marriages, Dinah Mulock Craik, 1867

Uncle Silas, Sheridan Le Fanu, 1864

Under Two Flags, Ouida [Marie Louise de la Ramée], 1867

The Vicar of Bullhampton, Anthony Trollope, 1869–70

The White Rose, G. J. Whyte-Melville, 1868

Wives and Daughters, Elizabeth Gaskell, 1864–66

The Woman in White, Wilkie Collins, 1859–60

Woodburn Grange, William Howitt, 1867