Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Making Music ModernNew York in the 1920s$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Carol J. Oja

Print publication date: 2000

Print ISBN-13: 9780195058499

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: January 2010

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195058499.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.oxfordscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use (for details see www.oxfordscholarship.com/page/privacy-policy).date: 19 October 2018

A Quartet of New World Neoclassicists

A Quartet of New World Neoclassicists

(p.264) 16 A Quartet of New World Neoclassicists
Making Music Modern

Carol J. Oja

Oxford University Press

The Copland-Sessions Concerts celebrated youth, giving performance opportunities to composers who would eventually emerge as leaders in the United States. The stylistic range of music performed on the series was far broader than is generally recognized, yet there is no denying that one of its main constituencies was made up of composers with varying inclinations toward neoclassicism. Four of them are Roger Sessions, Walter Piston, Roy Harris, and Carlos Chávez, who, when placed alongside Aaron Copland and Virgil Thomson, broaden our perspective on the diversity of American attitudes toward neoclassicism. Sessions and Piston both adopted fairly traditional stances toward the aesthetic yet achieved quite different results, whereas Harris and Chávez took much more idiosyncratic approaches. All four negotiated individual contracts with this transatlantic aesthetic in some of their earliest mature works. Among American composers born around the turn of the century, Sessions was the one most comfortable with his connection to the music and traditions of Western Europe.

Keywords:   Roger Sessions, Walter Piston, Roy Harris, Carlos Chávez, neoclassicism, Europe, composers, modernist music, new music

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .