Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Demoting VishnuRitual, Politics, and the Unraveling of Nepal's Hindu Monarchy$

Anne T. Mocko

Print publication date: 2016

Print ISBN-13: 9780190275211

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: November 2015

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780190275211.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.oxfordscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2017. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use (for details see http://www.oxfordscholarship.com/page/privacy-policy). Subscriber: null; date: 25 February 2017

(p.192) Appendix B List of Formal Interviews Conducted in this Research (in Alphabetical Order)

(p.192) Appendix B List of Formal Interviews Conducted in this Research (in Alphabetical Order)

Demoting Vishnu

Anne T. Mocko

Oxford University Press


Position/reason for interview


Narahari Acharya

NC leader; first prominent member of NC to advocate abolition of monarchy

February 26, 2010

Ram Mani Acharya

Director, Patan branch of Guti Samsthan, 2008–2010

Sept. 24, 2010

Raghu Nath Aryal

Former Deputy Raj Purohit; then-staff member Hanuman Dhoka

  • August 23, 2010

  • October 12, 2010

Laxminarayan Banmala

Priest of Bhaktapur’s Navadurga Temple

May 14, 2010

Dinanath Bhattarai

Staff at Hanuman Dhoka (retired); freelance priest

October 4, 2010

Madhav Bhattarai

Deputy Raj Guru, 2001–2008

  • July 6, 2010

  • Sept. 21, 2010

Sharada Prasad Bhattarai

Chief priest of Gorkha Durbar

July 22, 2010

Bal Krishna Dahal

Aide to G. P. Koirala

October 8, 2010

Purushottam Dahal

Former head of government press service

March 1, 2010

Sthaneswor Devkota

CDO of Kathmandu, 2006–2007

June 30, 2010

Modaraj Dotel

CDO of Kathmandu, 2007–2008

August 20, 2010

Saujanya Joshi

Private secretary to Crown Prince Dipendra

September 7, 2010

Uddhav Karmacharya

Priest of Kathmandu Taleju temple

Sept. 13, 2011

Rebati Raman Khanal

Principal Secretary under Birendra; member of Rajparishad in 2001

April 30, 2010

Sarbendra Khanal

Head of Kathmandu police during interim period

October 9, 2010

Sujata Koirala

Deputy Prime Minister/Foreign Minister 2008–2011; daughter of G. P. Koirala

June 4, 2010

Chet Bahadur Kumbar

Private secretary to King Birendra

May 23, 2010

Dr. Govinda Kusum

Home Secretary (at time of interview); Secretary of Administrative Affairs (2006–2008); committee to inventory Narayanhiti Palace

August 5, 2010

Gen. Gajendra Limbu

Palace Military Secretary 2003–2006

June 18, 2010

Dr. Ram Sharan Mahat

Interim Finance Minister (2006–2008); several-time past Finance Minister; senior leader, Nepali Congress

March 23, 2010

Umesh Mainali

Interim Home Secretary (2006–2008)

  • June 13, 2010

  • June 25, 2010

Krishna Bahadur Mahara

Long-time Maoist spokesman; interim government spokesman and Minister of Communication (2007–2008)

July 15, 2010

Tirtha Lal Maharjan

Head of Jyapu Samaj, 2007

October 9, 2010

Jaya Ram Manandhar

Director, Narayanhiti Palace Museum; long-time palace staff member

  • April 20, 2010

  • May 20, 2010

  • May 24, 2010

Jit Manandhar

Secretary of the Raj Parishad (retired)

September 14, 2011

Mangal Krishna Manandhar

Head of Indra Jatra Planning Committee

August 23, 2010

Mangal Siddhi Manandhar

Interim Minister of Education (UML)

September 4, 2011

Madhav Kumar Nepal

Chairman of UML (retired); post-interim prime minister

October 24, 2011

Lekhnath Neupane

Maoist student leader and street protest organizer

September 9, 2011

K. P. Sharma Oli

Deputy Prime Minister during interim period (UML)

September 16, 2010

Raj Panday

Director, Kathmandu branch of Guti Samsthan (2006–2008)

October 21, 2010

Ramesh Nath Panday

Foreign Secretary during Gyanendra’s direct rule (2005–2006)

September 20, 2010

Ramesh Prasad Panday

Chief Royal Priest (Raj Purohit) at time of palace massacre

August 23, 2007

Purushottam Paudel

Head of Patan branch of Guti Samsthan (2006–2008)

September 28, 2010

Ananda Pokharel

CDO of Patan (2006–2008)

August 27, 2010

Prahlad Pokharel

Private secretary to interim Home Minister (2006–2008)

October 6, 2010

Mitha Ram Pudasaini

Senior administrator, Hanuman Dhoka

July 24, 2010

Taranath Ranabhat

Speaker of the House of Representatives (1999–2006); palace massacre investigator

October 7, 2010

Dr. Keshar Jung Rayamajhi

Chairman of Rajparishad at time of palace massacre

  • March 5, 2010

  • March 30, 2010

Gautam Shakya

Staff member of Kumari House; liaison between Kumari House and gutis, Kumari House and government

October 13, 2010

Preeti Shakya (with Renu Shakya)

Royal Kumari, 2001–2008 (with her mother)

May 31, 2010

Amik Sherchan

Deputy Prime Minister during interim period (Janamorcha Party)

October 22, 2010

Hirakaji Shrestha

Home Ministry, Internal Management Section

October 4, 2010

Jaya Ram Shrestha

Ministry of Culture liaison to Indra Jatra gutis

September 13, 2010

Sushil Shrestha

Narayanhiti Palace staff, now Narayanhiti Palace Museum staff

July 2, 2010

Krishna Prasad Sitaula

Interim Home Minister (2006–2008); senior leader, Nepali Congress

  • April 26, 2010

  • June 10, 2010

Hem Raj Subedi

Senior administrator, Guti Samsthan central office

September 3, 2010

Anit Thapa

Security officer, Kumari House

May 12, 2010

Bhekh Bahadur Thapa

Foreign Affairs Minister (2003–2004); panchayat-era government minister; past Nepali ambassador to United States, India

June 7, 2010

Chandra Bahadur Thapa (“Sagar”)

Former in charge of Maoist YCL, current member of Constituent Assembly

September 10, 2011

Chiran Shumsher Thapa

Palace press secretary under Birendra; deputy chief of Gyanendra’s household prior to direct rule

June 24, 2010

Gen. Pyar Jung Thapa

Chief of Royal Nepal Army, 2002–2006

  • June 8, 2010

  • July 9, 2010

(p.193) (p.194) (p.195)