Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Tears into WineJ. S. Bach's Cantata 21 in its Musical and Theological Contexts$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Eric Chafe

Print publication date: 2015

Print ISBN-13: 9780190217297

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: April 2015

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780190217297.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.oxfordscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use (for details see www.oxfordscholarship.com/page/privacy-policy).date: 16 December 2018

Ascent of the Soul: Part 2

Ascent of the Soul: Part 2

(p.389) 9 Ascent of the Soul: Part 2
Tears into Wine

Eric Chafe

Oxford University Press

This chapter is an analysis commentary on Cantata 21, Part 2. The chapter argues that its movement sequence should be viewed as outlining a tonal “anabasis”—that is, a motion from the relative major of C minor (E flat) step by step until the final chorus in C major.

Keywords:   anabasis, permutation fugue, soliloquium, circle-of-fifths, eschatology, water into wine

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .