Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation

2013 Nobel Prize Winner on OSO

October 17, 2013

On Monday, Eugene F. Fama, Lars Peter Hansen, and Oxford Scholarship Online author Robert J. Shiller were announced as the Nobel Prize for Economic Sciences for 2013! The prize, whose full title is Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, was awarded to the trio for their outstanding research in asset pricing.

In celebration, we've made the introductory chapter of Robert Shiller's book available for free for one month. Entitled Macro Markets: Creating Institutions for Managing Society's Largest Economic Risks, this book describes a substantial array of new markets, and attempts to indicate ways around some of the major barriers to the establishment and success of these markets.